you are here: resource-types / books 55-72 of 458 « 4 of 26 »    

Drop Around the World

This book is a year-after-year favorite with teachers. It engagingly leads readers around the world following a drop of water—whether as steam or snow, inside a plant or animal, or underground—teaching the wonders and importance of the water cycle. (There’s lots of geography, too.) Four pages of science about the qualities of water are included.

read more

Troy Perry: Pastor and Prophet

Compiled by Chris Glaser, this hard-bound coffee table book explores the life and ministry of Rev. Troy D. Perry, founder of Metropolitan Community Churches (MCC) and gay rights activist. Complete with full-color photographs, the book includes Perry’s historic contributions to the international human rights for LGBT persons.

read more

As My Own Soul: The Blessing of Same-Gender Marriage

Ever wonder why marriage for same-gender couples generates such passion? Why is it so important to gay people? And why is it felt as an attack on “traditional” marriage by others? Writing accessibly for the general reader, author Chris Glaser narrows it down—first to taboos around sexuality, then to taboos around the sacred.

read more

The Final Deadline: What Death Has Taught Me about Life

“Too often we postpone life, as if there were no deadline.” As a writer, Chris Glaser experiences deadlines as friendly reminders that something has to be accomplished by a given time. Glaser views death as The Final Deadline, one that insists we “get it” or “get it done”—whatever “it” is—during our lifetimes.

read more

The God We Never Knew:

Beyond Dogmatic Religion To A More Authenthic Contemporary Faith

How to have faith––how to even think about God––without having to stifle modern rationality is one of the most vital challenges facing contemporary religion. In providing a much–needed solution to the problem of how to have a fully authentic yet fully contemporary understanding of God, Borg––author of the bestselling Meeting Jesus Again for the First Time––traces his personal journey.

read more

Evolution of the Word:

The New Testament in the Order the Books Were Written

the full-text of the New Testament—and one of the only Bibles organized in chronological order and including explanatory annotations that give readers a more informed understanding of the Scripture

read more

The Lost Gospel of the Earth:

A Call for Renewing Nature, Spirit and Politics

More timely and necessary than ever in the wake of recent calamities like Hurricane Katrina and the Republican war against the environment, The Lost Gospel of the Earth is legendary activist Tom Hayden’s eco-spiritual call for revamping traditional religious doctrine to reflect a greater environmental consciousness, which he believes is the only way to save the planet from catastrophe.

read more

Cards, Carols, and Claus

Christmas in Popular Culture and Progressive Christianity

An exploration in Christmas as a festival in popular culture and progressive Christianity, with an emphasis on Christmas cards, Carols by Candlelight, and Santa Claus. While the biblical infancy stories in Matthew and Luke are approached from a progressive Christianity perspective

read more

Meeting Jesus Again for the First Time: The Historical Jesus and the Heart of Contemporary Faith

Of the many recent books on the historical Jesus, none has explored what the latest biblical scholarship means for personal faith. Now, in Meeting Jesus Again for the First Time, Marcus Borg addresses the yearnings of those …

read more

The Last Week: What the Gospels Really Teach About Jesus’s Final Days in Jerusalem

And Author John Dominic Crossan

Top Jesus scholars Marcus J. Borg and John Dominic Crossan join together to reveal a radical and little-known Jesus. As both authors reacted to and responded to questions about Mel Gibson’s blockbuster The Passion of the Christ, …

read more

The First Paul: Reclaiming the Radical Visionary Behind the Church’s Conservative Icon

And Author: John Dominic Crossan

Meet Paul Again . . . for the First Time Continuing in the tradition of The Last Week and The First Christmas, world-renowned New Testament scholars Marcus Borg and John Dominic Crossan use the best of biblical …

read more

Bound: an Earth Walker’s Handbook

Are there any fun theology books written with today’s reader in mind? Contemporary Christian thought leader Phyllis Tickle says “imaginative theologically and charming as well as rigorous, Bound, an Earth Walker’s Handbook is the best example I have ever seen of riveting and holy fun.”

read more

The Heart of Christianity: Rediscovering a Life of Faith

World-renowned Jesus scholar Marcus J. Borg shows how we can live passionately as Christians in today’s world by practicing the vital elements of Christian faith.

read more

Against the Stream

Progressive Christianity between Pulpit and Pew

In this collection of sermons and brief history of liberal/progressive Christianity in Australia, religious naturalist, progressive liturgist and social ecologist, Rex A. E. Hunt introduces some of the heroes of the early and current progressive movements in Australia, outlines the story of this contemporary expression, and highlights some of its characteristics.

read more

Witness

Witness (2013) is the first book and series title of crime thrillers leading to the fall of Jerusalem and Masada in first-century Israel, in a historical perspective on religious and secular developments.

read more
you are here: resource-types / books 55-72 of 458 « 4 of 26 »