you are here: topics / progressive-christianity-101 313-324 of 844 « 27 of 71 »    

Meeting Jesus Again for the First Time: The Historical Jesus and the Heart of Contemporary Faith

Of the many recent books on the historical Jesus, none has explored what the latest biblical scholarship means for personal faith. Now, in Meeting Jesus Again for the First Time, Marcus Borg addresses the yearnings of those …

read more

The Last Week: What the Gospels Really Teach About Jesus’s Final Days in Jerusalem

And Author John Dominic Crossan

Top Jesus scholars Marcus J. Borg and John Dominic Crossan join together to reveal a radical and little-known Jesus. As both authors reacted to and responded to questions about Mel Gibson’s blockbuster The Passion of the Christ, …

read more

The First Paul: Reclaiming the Radical Visionary Behind the Church’s Conservative Icon

And Author: John Dominic Crossan

Meet Paul Again . . . for the First Time Continuing in the tradition of The Last Week and The First Christmas, world-renowned New Testament scholars Marcus Borg and John Dominic Crossan use the best of biblical …

read more

The Heart of Christianity: Rediscovering a Life of Faith

World-renowned Jesus scholar Marcus J. Borg shows how we can live passionately as Christians in today’s world by practicing the vital elements of Christian faith.

read more

Against the Stream

Progressive Christianity between Pulpit and Pew

In this collection of sermons and brief history of liberal/progressive Christianity in Australia, religious naturalist, progressive liturgist and social ecologist, Rex A. E. Hunt introduces some of the heroes of the early and current progressive movements in Australia, outlines the story of this contemporary expression, and highlights some of its characteristics.

read more

Dying for a Drink

We worked all day. Dad and Rachel were on one team, Father Crespi and I were on another, refilling tanks, cleaning up trash around them, and placing new ones. Five new blue flags, marking the new tanks, waved defiantly against the demon of thirst, and fluttered in the breeze over the desert at sundown that evening. The crew enjoyed a dinner at Rachel’s house prepared by the Women’s Society of the Federated Church.

read more

God-in-a-Box

A phrase in the contemporary Christian song, “In Christ Alone,” has sparked a great deal of discussion lately. The phrase in question reads, “as Jesus died/the wrath of God was satisfied.” The phrase reflects a particular interpretation …

read more
you are here: topics / progressive-christianity-101 313-324 of 844 « 27 of 71 »